Flats & Handwashing Challenge: Day 1-Why Are You Taking The Challenge?

Today is the 1st day of the 4th Annual Flats & Handwashing Challenge! I have never used flats before, so I am excited to do this. 🙂

So why am I taking the Challenge? Well, one, I have never used flats. Two, I need to make myself familiar with one of the cheapest (if not cheapest ways) to cloth diaper. I sell cloth diapers for a living, and this is the one system of diapering that I have not tried yet!

Those are the main reasons. I have a few others. 😛
They are, (in no particular order):

1. Travel – Even though disposable inserts are better to use then popular-brand disposable diapers, it can get expensive! I recently had to resort to disposables during a bout of yeast (and spores. Yikes!) and used disposable inserts and covers. Let me tell you, I spent some money! I would rather not have to factor in diaper costs when planning a vacation.

2. Versatility – You can do anything with a flat. Though I am only doing the challenge with my 4 month old, I have an almost 2yo still in diapers. I am going to be trying out the flats on her after, as she is starting to outgrow my prefolds.

3. Availability – You can make flats out of anything in a pinch! Cotton towels, cotton shirts, anything that will absorb pee.

Thus far, flats have worked great for my little man. All day I have used flats with a Snappi and a Rumparooz cover. I am not sure what I would call the fold I used, but it worked for us. 🙂 Since little man is already down for the night, I used a flat and a Hemp Babies diaper doubler. So we will see in the morning how that worked!

Tomorrow should prove interesting, as I work tomorrow and I take little man with me. So tomorrow’s post will be about using flats at work! Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

