Another Change. Born Out of Necessity…

helped by popularity. 🙂

Another change I have been forced to make this week is switching to all-natural cleaners.

Right now, I have a tub of Clorox wipes in every bathroom, and a cabinet full of antibacterial cleaners.
Those are all going in the trash tomorrow.

When we moved into our new place, I went crazy on buying cleaners. We scrubbed the whole house and have continued to do so, as needed.

But a few months ago, my husband broke out with a staph skin infection. So, we made sure to wash his clothes and towels separately, used separate showers (we have 2. Me and the baby used her’s, he used the one in the master bathroom.) After his outbreak was gone, we scrub both bathrooms with Clorox. And we thought that was the end of it.

About a week later, I had a breakout. Just one spot on my leg, but still a pretty bad one. Again, did the same. Made sure to keep my stuff separate in the wash, and scrubbed everything down once I was clear. Since I am expecting Jellybean #2 and still nursing Rosebud part-time, I did go get antibiotics for mine. But mine ran it’s course and cleared up with no complications.

This week, Rosebud has had a breakout. Only one spot, but a staph skin infection in a little one is a lot more serious then in an adult. We ended up having to take her to the ER to get it checked out and to get her on meds. The past few days, I can tell she doesn’t feel well and have been keeping a close eye on her.

But I am not doing this again. Tomorrow, my old store-bought cleaners are getting tossed and I am scrubbing my house with good ol’ vinegar and tea tree oil. I made two bottles of cleaner last night for the bathrooms, and mixed up a bottle of Biokleen for the kitchen. I have laundry in right now in lavender detergent, to which I added a few drops of tea tree oil.

Why am I making this change? Because I am convinced I am battling a strong strain of staph right now that has stopped responding to store-bought cleaners. So why not go with the tried and true method of using natural, inexpensive ingredients to clean with and make my house safe for my family.

One thought on “Another Change. Born Out of Necessity…

  1. Pingback: I’m Not Comfortable With This Cereal… | Southern Fried Thinker

Leave a Reply

